Home / Sport / Can Dynamos do it again or will Mapeza make history?…a look at the two title deciding clashes

Can Dynamos do it again or will Mapeza make history?…a look at the two title deciding clashes

FC Platinum has failed to win the premiership title in its considerable history in the topflight despite its huge investments but so has the legendary Lloyd Mutasa who now finds inexperienced Dynamos in an unlikely second position trailing by two points after a shaky start to his season.

As we enter the penultimate week of the Castle Lager PSL, MatchDay/Fokus Sport takes a look at some permutations and facts on the two-title deciding, blockbusters scheduled for this afternoon.

Dynamos will be facing an uphill task against a thorny Chicken Inn at the National Sports Stadium. A win for the Glamour Boys might not be enough to guarantee them the premiership title if FC Platinum does not drop points at Ascot Stadium where Kugona Kunenge Kudada faces Chapungu.


  1. FC Platinum needs an outright win to guarantee them a first league title.
  2. Dynamos will hope that Chapungu hold FC Platinum and they beat 2015 champions, Chicken Inn to clinch their 22nd title.
  3. Dynamos and Chicken Inn played to a goalless draw in their first fixture in Bulawayo while FC Platinum dismissed Chapungu 1-0 at Mandava in their first fixture this season.
  4. If FC Platinum is held to a draw and Dynamos win, the Glamour Boys will win the title on a better goal difference.
  5. Dynamos have scored 54 goals and conceded 26 goals.
  6. FC Platinum have scored 36 and conceded 15 goals.
  7. 10. Dynamos coach, Lloyd Mutasa has never won the league title in his coaching career while his FC Platinum compatriot, Norman Mapeza won it in 2008 with Monomotapa.
  8. FC Platinum has three former Dynamos players in their camp (Gift Bello, Takesure Chinyama and Brett Amidu).
  9. In 2011, FC Platinum lost the title to Dynamos on the last day of the season. 9. Dynamos have won three titles on goal difference in the past six seasons (2011, 2012, 2013).
  10. Chapungu were last year’s king makers as Caps United lifted the league title at Ascot stadium in their last fixture of the season and today they play against log leaders FC Platinum in a season finale and championship decider.


About Fokus

Check Also


Chitembwe throws in the towel?

Caps United coach, Lloyd Chitembwe seems to have given up any hope of salvaging hi …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *